Religious hostility

I only know Sofia Wadensjö Karén as editor of Swedish magazine Vi. She seems as sensible and normal as most of the people who write for Vi. So it was interesting to read her editorial in Vi 9. It was about religion.

Apparently a friend accused her husband of having joined Jehovah’s Witnesses, on account of him being married to Sofia. The only thing ‘wrong’ with her is that she is the daughter of a bishop. I didn’t know that, and it doesn’t feel as if it matters one way or another.

She is not anti-church, obviously. Nor is she a super fervent church-goer. Sofia is what many of us are; someone somewhere in the middle.

I had no idea Swedes are so anti-religion. Or rather, I suppose I knew many are not religious at all (unless they are getting married), but I didn’t know people feel it is wrong for others to be different. And marrying a bishop’s daughter is probably not contagious. At least not in the wrong sense.

Leave a comment